Tuesday, June 26, 2012

Couch to 5k

So last night I posted on Facebook about how well I was doing with my Couch to 5k.  I had lots of people text me, private message me, or comment on my status so I decided the best way to let everybody know was to blog about it.  I first want to start off by saying that I HATE RUNNING! I know your probably thinking why in the world are you doing this if you hate to run.  I have figured out that having a 15 month old and living so far from a gym it's not easy to work out.  I knew I could burn more calories in a shorter length of time at home outside then if I drove to the gym in town.  I never liked running because I felt awful afterwards.  

My:
LEGS
SIDE
CALVES
SHINS
ARMS
NOSE
EARS
LIPS
FINGERS

Okay......I may be exaggerating a little bit (Josh says A LOT...  :-) but I am very serious.  My body is not built to run.  When I competed in dance in high school we did 3-4 minutes intense routines and I could handle that just fine. BUT running for 30 min....ummmm not so much!  PUKE PUKE PUKE
I even tried track and I just couldn't do it.  I tried to stick it out just because all my girlfriends were in it. :-)  The sacrifices I made to be with my friends....haha.  I won't discuss what I tried out for in middle school to be with all my friends!  You would probably die laughing!  Hopefully none of my girlfriends will remember!  hehe

So I decided in the spring I wanted to start running.  My best friends from high school (actually we went to school since preschool....geeeez that's a long time) Abby Elder and Ashley Hill (Hicks) were training for a 5k....I asked them what they were doing and Ashley had found this website where she downloaded podcasts to her ipod and listened to them while she ran.  The girl talks during the work out to let you know when to run and when to walk.  You always start and end with a 5 minute walk.  I haven't even told you the best part yet????

THE MUSIC IS GREAT! It ranges from Michael Jackson to P.Diddy.  LOVE IT ALL!

I did skip two weeks because I was sick and I was busy with my brothers wedding so I just started where I left off.

I just finished day 1 of week 8.  I also love this work out because you only have to do it 3 days a week and sometimes I do 4 just because I want to.

I will say I am not "IN LOVE" with running still but I will say I feel a lot better, I have more energy, and I am no where close to puking after my 28 minutes of running which I did for the first time today.  Not to mention I am burning WAAAAAY more calories in 30 minutes running then if I were to walk for 30 minutes!  YEA!!!

Here is the website.  Just download the podcast and then transfer them to your ipod or iphone.  I have a droid and haven't figured out a way to get them on there, but if you figure out a way please let me know!


If you have any questions please ask!  I remember texting Ashley quite a bit in the beginning! :-)Please let me know how it works for you.  I will warn you that week 3 or 4 is harsh.(Can't remember)  You will be cussing at me while you are running because that's what I was doing to Ashley and Abby that week! :-)

Good Luck RUNNING!..................



XOXOXO,

BRIANNE



Wednesday, June 20, 2012

Father's Day Gift

What do you get someone for Father's Day who has everything??  I'm talking about Josh!  I decided a picture would be great but I wanted it to be something different and unique.  I searched Pinterest and found something similar to what I decided to make.   This is what Brody gave Josh and I am pleased with what I came up with.  Let me just tell you.....it's not easy having a 15 month old hold a letter box, look at you, smile, ohhhh AND not rip the color paper off the front!  And he has Jaw teeth coming in and all he wants to do is put his hand in his mouth!!!!  After about 30 minutes which to me seemed like 2 hours I finally got some decent shots.  It was rather HOT and he just wanted to go play with Sami our pet dog.  She is a chocolate lab and Brody loves to chase her and hit her. :-)  

Here is my finished product.

I don't know why it's showing up so blurry.  On my camera it looks very clear!  Sorry?

I went to Hobby Lobby and bought paper mache letters and covered them in bright colored scrap book paper.  Then took him outside and had him hold each letter.  This was the only three frame picture arrangement Hobby Lobby had to choose from that wasn't a wire framed.  I also wanted them to be different sizes so this framed worked out PERFECT!  

Happy Father's Day Josh.....we love you very much and appreciate all you do and how hard you work for Brody and I! 

This would also be a great day for Mother's Day....or any other type of gift!  Let me know what you gave as a unique gift for Father's Day.  I love hearing ideas.  :-)


XOXOXO,

Brianne

Wednesday, June 13, 2012

My favorites...CHEESY & EASY

I remember as a kid not liking HATING meatloaf from the school.  It was so dry and looked like someone had yaked all over my plate. I would always pick to take my lunch box on the day they were serving meatloaf.  I remember my mom getting a new meatloaf recipe and fixing it for the family to try.  I hated meatloaf, so why even try it right???!!!  Well guess what she put in it??? What makes everything taste AMAZING???  You only get one guess.........................















CHEESE

Yep she put cheese in her new recipe for meatloaf and I had to try it.  Here I am 20+ years later still making my moms meatloaf with cheese and still loving it. I still refused to eat school meatloaf when I was teaching. UGH!

So I am going to share with you how easy it is.... 

Go to the super market (I go to Wal-Mart, and Kroger) and buy a can of Hunt's Meatloaf Sauce.  How cool is that???  It's already made for you!   



On the back I follow the recipe except I only put 1/2 cup of bread crumbs instead of a whole cup.  I use Progresso bread crumbs.  Make sure they are PLAIN.



I use 2 lbs. ground chuck instead of ground beef.  Then I add a whole bag of this....


you can also use this


but if you buy shredded you wont have to slice the block up in cubes.  Noooo I am not lazy...I just like to make things easy and it takes an extra step out! :-) I would like to add that I have tried other cheeses and nothing beats Velveeta.  One night I forgot to pick up Velveeta and used the cheddar.  I didn't tell Josh and he immediately noticed something was different.  It wasn't as creamy. :-)

Before I pour the can of Hunt's Meat Loaf Mix in with everything else I always add a couple squirts of Hunt's ketchup.  I like my meatloaf really saucy.  I stir it up and leave about 1/4 in the can (this is what I put on top later).  I mix it with my hands and put it in the pan and I'm done.  It only takes about 5-10 minutes to prepare which works out great because it takes an hour to cook.....this gives me time to chase Brody.....do laundry.....do dishes....read 50 Shades of Grey......shop on the internet.....sit on the back porch and sip on some wine and relax....hahahaha....Having a 14 month old, I wish I could do just one of them.  He just wants my attention at all times so I just have to wait till nap time or bed time.  Christian waits for me though.  HA  :-)  I always tell Josh when I am going to read that I'm going to see Christian!  

Back to Meatloaf...FOCUS BRIANNE!!!!!  After 45 minutes I take meatloaf out and pour the remaining sauce on the meatloaf and stick it back in oven for 15 minutes.  When I take it out I sprinkle brown sugar on my portion because Josh HATES sweet stuff.  If I was eating this meatloaf alone I would pour a lot of brown sugar in the mixture but since it's for him too, I just make adjustments.  I wait till the end because it melts when I sprinkle it on top and it taste better that way.  My advice to you is to try it with brown sugar first on one slice.  It really makes a difference. If you don't like it then you don't have to add it. :-)


This Meatloaf will blow you away!  It is soooooo cheesy!!!!  Who don't like cheese???  It's amazing and I have to give all the credit to my mommy.  She is the best cook!  She can't bake though. :-(
 

****If you have any questions please ask!

If you make this please comment below how delicious it taste!!! :-)  



xoxoxox,

Brianne


Wednesday, June 6, 2012

Wedding Season....Mr. & Mrs. Jokisch

About two months ago I started looking at Etsy on what to buy my brother and his new wife for their wedding gift!  I found sooooo many cute ideas and everything I wanted was over $70.00.  I didn't have a lot to spend after buying everything it cost to be in the wedding.  I found something I REALLLLY liked a lot and it was different and unique.

 
The only problem was it was $70.00 with shipping and it wasn't framed. :-(
I decided I could pull it off and make it myself.  I also wanted to add the year they were married on it.

So I went to my favorite store Hobby Lobby and bought burlap, black & white fabric paint, stencils, and a frame I found on the clearance shelf.  The frame was a little more than I wanted to pay but with the last name J O K I S C H...I had to find a long frame.  ;-)

Oh and if you haven't been to Hobby Lobby in the last two weeks you need to go ASAP...They are re-doing aisles and they have put SOOOOO much stuff in the clearance section!  I was in there for 2.5 hours last week with Brody and I would have stayed longer but he was getting tired.  He was so good.  He just sat in the cart with his gold fish and played.  Thanks Brody!

Here is how it turned out...and I can't take all the credit.  Josh helped me out measuring it all out and making sure it sit just perfect in the frame.  He was getting frustrated and I think he was so happy to see me finish it and give it to them! haha 

Here it is.....



I was very happy with the way it turned out and I won't say what I paid for it but it was not even close to half of what I would have paid on Etsy.  

I hope you like!!!  If you have any questions on how I made it please ask!  It's pretty easy!!

XOXOXO,
Bri



**The top image was taken from a shop on Etsy. I can't remember the name of her store but she has lots of super cute items for wedding gifts! :-)

Friday, June 1, 2012

Just call me Martha Stewart !!!!

Sorry these were taken with my camera phone.  The dresser looks much better in person! :-)


I am very SUPER happy with the project I have been working on for the past couple of weeks. This project should only take one day....maybe two at the most but when your a stay at home mom you have nosey britches.... And it takes weeks! HA



Josh's grandma BC, whom he adored left this dresser to the family.




It has been over at Mase's Place Bar & Grill for the past 6 years and was used to keep the napkins, silverware, tea, coffee, etc. There was two of them over there and we remodeled the Bar this season so we decided to eliminate one.  Josh and I have no furniture in our bedroom because we both have our own closets. I decided I needed a dresser to keep all my crafts and other things (Josh refers to them as JUNK) :-(  He thinks I am a hoarder but I'm really not, I just like to keep sentimental items.  Is there anything wrong with that???

So I decided it needed work and to be painted because I don't like the color of wood.  Wood is boring and I LOVE BLACK!!  Have I said that before? ha  Here are the before, during and after pictures of my our new dresser!

Before

Before (The top had water spots all over it from tea)


Primed

Top Primed

FINISHED!!! How awesome does it look now?  I must say I am very happy with the way it turned out!



Just a note: I DIDN'T SAND THIS DRESSER!!!!!! How cool is that???!!!

SUPPLIES
I changed all the knobs to silver instead of gold.  I bought them at Wright's Do-It Center in Murphysboro for .50 on the clearance rack.  SCORE!!!  If you go there, go to the back counter and ask for Julie (cute and sweet blonde girl will show you where all the clearance is located, and any other items you need help looking for).  I also bought black flat paint, primer, and mini roller from there.  This project cost me a total of $20.00.  I didn't want to spend that much but I have SOOOOO much primer and paint left.  I need to find some more things to re-do/paint!! HMMMMMM 

Love,
Breezy XOXOXO